Home Articles Downloads Forum Products Services Seminar Contact
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Setting up EBME Department #73797 30/11/18 9:37 AM
Joined: Nov 2018
Posts: 24
rsysmexk Offline OP
Dreamer
OP Offline
Dreamer
Joined: Nov 2018
Posts: 24
Hello folks,
I've just started a new role in a Hospital (JCI Acredited) where I've been tasked to set up the Biomedical Department. Can the more experienced of you provide me with your experience on what needs to be done and also advise me on what what mistakes not to make!
I've a wealth of experience as a contract biomedical engineer, where I've set up contract Biomed functions in Hospitals that managed the equipment as a 3rd party so I know the amount of work lies ahead of me. I've participated in JCI Audits before where I've had to assist the hospital during the audit, so I know the detail of what is expected in relation to their audit requirements.
But for those of you who have set up EBME departments, I'd be interested in hearing your experience of what you did and what you would avoid doing if you had to repeat the job again?
Cheers!

Re: Setting up EBME Department [Re: rsysmexk] #73798 30/11/18 10:35 AM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 13,886
Geoff Hannis Offline
Super Hero
Offline
Super Hero
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 13,886

Hopefully this will be an interesting thread (like ones we used to have in days gone by).

In my own experience what matters most is "the blokes"; that is - the quality of the biomed techs you have on your team.

Oh, and don't be tempted to put all your files in the Cloud!

Good luck! smile

Re: Setting up EBME Department [Re: rsysmexk] #73799 30/11/18 11:27 AM
Joined: Dec 2015
Posts: 49
Dustcap Offline
Technologist
Offline
Technologist
Joined: Dec 2015
Posts: 49
Sounds like a great project.
My first thought is a robust and suitable asset management system that will be able to accept GS1/ UDI numbers and also the prospect of any future RFID systems. Some good test equipment, some good tools, and as Geoff points out-the techs are the most important part. Look at whats being asked of you, within two years you'll be asked to do more! This could be in the way of in house devices that are already on manufacturers contracts or it could be nearby services that will want your services.
Make good networks with IT staff and discuss any incoming or future projects.
Most of all ensure you have a suitable workshop with a kettle and fridge!


30 years since the Chernobyl disaster and yet we still have no super heroes or zombies.
Re: Setting up EBME Department [Re: Dustcap] #73800 30/11/18 3:24 PM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 13,886
Geoff Hannis Offline
Super Hero
Offline
Super Hero
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 13,886

Yes; you need a good "database" (and a kettle is essential) ... but also a good set of Policies and Procedures (although these could - and should - be developed over time).

But to my mind the Big Thing that I have seen many biomed departments fail to really get to grips with is simply:-

"Remembering who your customers are"!

Or - put another way - the real reason you are there!

You need to get into the habit of taking time out to visit the user departments every day. One or two each day, if you like. Or better still (if the hospital isn't too big), stride around your complete domain every couple of days (as I always liked to do). Take a regular mid-afternoon break and get out there! smile

In short, maintaining "good relations" with user staff should be a high priority. And I mean face-to-face, and not (as I have seen) just by email.

Stuff like that - "the user interface" - is the real difference between being a visiting service engineer and being in (or running) an in-house biomed department. There is more to it than just "fixing the kit"; and even more so these days.

I have known a fair number of techs in my time who were good at one, but not the other (and vice-versa); they tended to fall into one camp or the other - but in the in-house situation, we really need both attributes. smile

Re: Setting up EBME Department [Re: rsysmexk] #73802 30/11/18 5:46 PM
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 49
Steveddie Offline
Technologist
Offline
Technologist
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 49
One of the questions that often gets asked by the modern generational wing within our department is a clear definition of why? The proverbial statement of purpose. I think we are there to protect the trust first, and by that, we make sure what should work should, whats needed to be available is and to put things in place so that what we can do to keep the prior two is most likely. And do so £££ savy.

What’s the core purpose of your new set up?

Last edited by Steveddie; 30/11/18 7:04 PM.
Re: Setting up EBME Department [Re: rsysmexk] #73804 30/11/18 11:30 PM
Joined: Nov 2018
Posts: 24
rsysmexk Offline OP
Dreamer
OP Offline
Dreamer
Joined: Nov 2018
Posts: 24
Great advice lads (especially the kettle bit!). The hospital were recently purchased by a huge hospital group who like to control things internally (hence my appointment) and not rely on contractors maintaining the equipment in a manner that I find is second rate and not good enough in my opinion. I will be able to draw on experience from other hospitals in the group so that I don't need to "reinvent the wheel" when it comes to generating documentation for JCI/quality purposes, but my past life (a long time ago) as a test engineer for an aerospace company thinks that I can improve on whatever they can supply, I'm here to make this place better for the patients and staff that occupy the facility.

@Geoff, I'm the only Biomed in the hospital, but I will be working in tandem with the facilities team. I will be generating the process documentation for these fellows to work with. The guys have a great team spirit, are enthusiastic and are definitely willing/able. I am planning on being as paperless as possible, I don't see the point in having hoards of files and binders if all that is needed, is available electronically (environmentally friendly too). I'm not the hiding away type who tries to do as much as possible in the dungeon that is usually the Biomed department, I like to get out and meet the "customers" as it makes the rapport connection that inspires confidence in what I want to achieve. There's a young demographic of staff in the facility who appreciate assistance and are willing to accept change for the better. I've contracted in places where there was an older demographic, who don't like change to how things have been done for years, that was always an uphill battle.

@Dustcap, the hospital gave me "carte blanche" on test equipment, even for future plans. I've spec'ed the kit that I need and they've ordered it. The asset management system is an upgraded I.T. system that has a lot of capacity for development. Excuse my ignorance, but does GS1 or UDI cover all/most med equipment labels?

@Steveddie, the hospital have been getting second rate support from contractors/OEM's in the past. I've witnessed it 1st hand. "Yes of course we will be there tomorrow", then they either call to reschedule for some reason, or worse, just don't show up. I'm there to provide the level of support that they deserve and to crack the whip on OEM's. I've worked in the In-vitro diagnostic market (which is a cut throat sector) and I'm planning on including non conformance penalties in SLA's in order to improve their performance. It really annoys me that SLA's are signed and then the OEM's don't deliver...

Re: Setting up EBME Department [Re: rsysmexk] #73805 01/12/18 11:21 AM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 13,886
Geoff Hannis Offline
Super Hero
Offline
Super Hero
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 13,886

What? You don't have a dungeon? whistle

Otherwise, it sounds like you've "got it made, in the shade", as it were.

It's great that you're starting from scratch, thereby avoiding the usual process of having to un-pick the mess left by others!

It sounds to me like you have an opportunity there to be part of an integrated Technical Services Department (rather than the usual separate Biomed and Facilities set-ups, and all the turf wars that generally engenders) - this could (should) also include IT, in my opinion.

But you need to be sure that the "asset management system" is in fact suitable for biomed needs (which generally differ from those of Facilities). In short, you need a decent biomed PM regime.

Regarding the young and (versus?) old demographics ... yes, what you say can be the case; but don't forget that the perceived "resistance to change" by the Old and Bold is probably based upon the sorry experience of having many (endless, and often futile) "changes" foisted upon them over the years. To my mind, the basics of providing decent in-house biomed services - especially a programme of properly conducted PM - have remained much the same since the Dawns of Biomed, and this is likely to continue to be the case.

Other than that - yes; I like your attitude (and spirit) - well done, and keep it up! Be sure to come back to us and let us know how you got on. smile

OK ... a couple of questions for you:-

1) How big is the hospital (how many beds etc.)?
2) How big is your inventory (items of equipment to support)?
3) How much of it is on contact with an outside agency?
4) Have you gone for any particular line of test kit (Fluke)?
5) Who do you report to (Facilities)?

Yes; "paperless" is good. Many of use have tried to implement it for many years (as in, thirty at least). With all the magic kit that is available these days, there is really no reason (or excuse) not to adopt this approach - especially when starting with a clean sheet of paper (see what I did there?).

Re: Setting up EBME Department [Re: rsysmexk] #73806 01/12/18 12:29 PM
Joined: Nov 2018
Posts: 24
rsysmexk Offline OP
Dreamer
OP Offline
Dreamer
Joined: Nov 2018
Posts: 24
1) How big is the hospital (how many beds etc.)? 100 bed
2) How big is your inventory (items of equipment to support)? I haven't completed the site audit yet, but it could be in the region of 1500.
3) How much of it is on contact with an outside agency? 30%
4) Have you gone for any particular line of test kit (Fluke)? Mainly Rigel.
5) Who do you report to (Facilities)? Chief Financial Officer

Re: Setting up EBME Department [Re: rsysmexk] #73807 01/12/18 2:35 PM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 13,886
Geoff Hannis Offline
Super Hero
Offline
Super Hero
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 13,886

Thanks for the info.

Sounds like you really need two biomeds, then.

If you plan (and/or hope) to be in it for the long term, after recruiting a colleague, whenever the opportunity arises I would look to be taking as much kit back in house as possible. In such manner are Empires created! LOL

Back in Ye Old Days we ran 100-bed hospitals with two biomeds. We managed all the kit in-house, and only called in* "the company" when unable to clear a job ourselves. Mainly on equipment such as the big autoclaves, the main x-ray sets, and some of the lab kit. That is, no contracts as such. Down-time sometimes suffered a bit, but it was a cost-effective approach back then (and back there) in those simpler times. Those were the days!

At larger sites we did everything at 1st. line (and were the "first responders" no matter what), but had contracts with outside service providers for some of the 2nd. line work (such as six-monthly PM on the main x-ray sets and certain lab instruments, monthly visits for dialysis ... and so forth). That way we had a bit of leverage ("first shout") if the kit broke down, and also a modicum of preferential treatment regarding availability (and cost) of spare parts. We found this to be the most cost-effective approach, whilst also keeping down-time on critical items within reasonable bounds (not that we ever stopped the radiologists moaning, of course).

Bottom line is that you need to look at every piece of kit within your domain and ask yourself the question:-

"How am I going to maintain that"? think

In each case you need to consider not only PM, but also how to get it repaired (in-house preferred, of course) if necessary. This process will also lead you to establish what resources you need - test equipment etc. But also parts:- will they be readily available, which items should I stock for ready use, and so forth. But in doing all that, don't forget the most valuable resource of all:- time (or if you prefer - man-hours - a point often glossed over, in my experience).

Biomeds are lucky in the range of test equipment that is available these days. I have nothing against Rigel, and have used a fair amount of their kit over the years, but if "cost was no object" I would have gone for Fluke - on grounds of the large range of test kit they offer (due to having bought up so many of the smaller companies), as well as their apparent policy of continuously rolling out new stuff! And (and a Big One, in my opinion) ... their gear works (links with) Ansur (which they now own as well).

Lastly, as you're just starting out - if I were you I would try to change the Chain of Command ... to come under the Hospital Engineer (Facilities Director, whatever) or better still, my own favourite, the Nursing Director. You know it makes sense! smile

* Although, to be honest, we had pretty good tech support (back-up) from within our own "company" resources.
In fact that was where I myself hid away.

Re: Setting up EBME Department [Re: rsysmexk] #73820 03/12/18 9:29 PM
Joined: Nov 2018
Posts: 24
rsysmexk Offline OP
Dreamer
OP Offline
Dreamer
Joined: Nov 2018
Posts: 24
Referring to your statement about "managed all the kit in-house". Did you have OEM training on all the kit or did you generate your own service procedures? If you generated your own procedures, what did you base them on? ECRI guidelines?
As much training as I've had over the years, there's still a lot of equipment for which I won't have training on, so my plan is to reach out to the OEM's with training requests (although I'm sure that many will be reluctant to offer it as they know that I will be reducing their service contracts) and if they don't provide the training, then I'm going to follow ECRI guidelines mixed with the technical manual instruction that I have or can get.
Do OEM's have an obligation to provide technical assistance/manuals to site services if requested? I've always wondered if they do? Your thoughts or knowledge would be appreciated?

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  DaveC in Oz, KM, RoJo 

Who's Online Now
3 registered members (tonyruss, DaveC in Oz, Huw), 698 guests, and 31 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newest Members
alaobidan, Olaf KAYHAN, Steve E (SJA), Sufrani, Gaynor
9501 Registered Users
Events
Philips - National Conference
Forum Statistics
Forums25
Topics10,452
Posts70,809
Members9,501
Most Online1,946
Nov 14th, 2019
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.2