Home Articles Downloads Forum Products Services EBME Expo Contact
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Joined: Nov 2018
Posts: 5
meelika Offline OP
Newbie
OP Offline
Newbie
Joined: Nov 2018
Posts: 5
So the final answer is - we used only 3 electrodes to measure 2 things at the same time (heart rate and respiration rate). smile If we wanted to avoid that, we would have to connect more electrodes to a simulator (if it is possible).

Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 14,676
Likes: 63
Super Hero
Offline
Super Hero
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 14,676
Likes: 63

But ...

Originally Posted by meelika

The error occured only when the RR and HR were the same value, if for example HR=80 and RR=20, then there were no errors.


So something doesn't sound right, there.

Pity I'm not there to have a go myself; I'm not sure exactly how the PS-420 simulator works (whether it can output two - both - signals simultaneously).

But bear in mind that on a Real Patient, three well-positioned electrodes will (should) give both ECG and RR. smile

Where - to which pins - have you got your three leads connected on the simulator? And does the LA/LL slide switch make any difference?


If you don't inspect ... don't expect.
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 796
Likes: 13
Philosopher
Offline
Philosopher
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 796
Likes: 13
Much as I hate to admit it but, I agree with Geoff. eek

There is no reason that having only a RA, LA, LL lead should cause this issue. This lead combination still allows for both leads I and II to be monitored and those are the two leads used for respiration monitoring.


Thoughts and information provided on this forum are mine and mine alone and do not necessarily reflect the policy of NSW Health. They may also be complete bollocks!!
Joined: Nov 2018
Posts: 5
meelika Offline OP
Newbie
OP Offline
Newbie
Joined: Nov 2018
Posts: 5
Sorry for delayed answer! End of the semester and lots of things to do smile Moving on..

Fair points are being made by both of you. I was confused myself when he told me this. I did at first offer him the 5% range possibility, but he shrugged it off.

RA, LA and LL were connected to accordingly (pins that were marked accordingly). I didnt check the LA/LL switch (the lab is now done and I can't really go and check it), but we used LL position. Also, someone did switch the LA/LL switch, but I don't remember why it came up and would it be relevant to this case. I will check with him and let you know later!

However, let's not forget the fact that I'm still a first year student (in masters) and there could be things I myself am missing here and can't deliver. :P

On a site note: the monitor did show both signals (HR waves and RR sinewave), but it just didn't show the RR value, which means that the signal was measured, right?

Edit: The guy who tried switching the LA/LL switch said the respiration wave flatlined after switching to LA.

Last edited by meelika; 11/12/18 11:26 AM.
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 14,676
Likes: 63
Super Hero
Offline
Super Hero
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 14,676
Likes: 63

If the ECG and respiration waveforms were being correctly displayed, then the simulator must have been producing them; and your note about the LA/LL switch confirms this.

To be honest, I'm now having doubts about your professor. Has he taught you the lesson (given his explanation) yet? think


If you don't inspect ... don't expect.
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 796
Likes: 13
Philosopher
Offline
Philosopher
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 796
Likes: 13
Originally Posted by meelika


On a site note: the monitor did show both signals (HR waves and RR sinewave), but it just didn't show the RR value, which means that the signal was measured, right?

Edit: The guy who tried switching the LA/LL switch said the respiration wave flatlined after switching to LA.


The fact that the monitor showed the RR waveform means it was seeing it and should have been showing the rate you are correct in that. This makes me think again that it is because the HR and RR were the same but perhaps some investigation into how HP/Agilent/Philips do their resp measurement is worth a look. Are there tech/user manuals available on-line?

As to the second point, this is to be expected. If you switch from Lead II (RA to LL) to lead I (RA to LA) then you need to tell the monitor to look at the different lead as well. Unlike ECG monitoring where multiple leads are checked simultaneously resp monitoring looks at only a single lead at any one time.


Thoughts and information provided on this forum are mine and mine alone and do not necessarily reflect the policy of NSW Health. They may also be complete bollocks!!
Page 2 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  DaveC in Oz, RoJo 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 418 guests, and 292 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newest Members
diodoled, Al BMET, Eng_VPG, Graham Oliver, Jawad
10,188 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums25
Topics11,073
Posts73,785
Members10,188
Most Online5,980
Jan 29th, 2020
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5