Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
edovon Offline OP
OP Offline
Hello,

I am a post-graduate student of Biomedical engineering.

I am designing a ”Phantom” for training in electrical safety testing.

It is a physical device able to simulate settable electrical failures that can be measured by technicians/engineers.

The failures can be set-up before each specific test, so that the technician should try to get the actual measure (also checking the result). it should be as much similar as possible real device that should simulate also the mechanic/geometrical/physical actions that have to be done in a test. (I attached to the email my sketch).

This device could give them the possibility to train in electrical safety testing, and to improve their ability on detecting failures and on understanding the underlying problems.

Do you think this idea could have an "on field" application on field? (safety, management)
Do you have any comments or suggestion about its implementation?

Thank you smile

Super Hero
Super Hero

I don't see the sketch. frown

Let's see if I've got this right ... you are planning to build a "dummy" piece of equipment, with hidden switches (or whatever) to enable the instructor to set up - or maybe just simulate - various fault conditions?

That takes me back almost fifty years to the days when faults* were put on the gun control system in Chieftain tanks - invariably by the judicious application of Sellotape on relay contacts - for us to fault-find ... but I digress.

OK ... two quick points:-

1) Why not use an actual piece of equipment - an old ECG Recorder, for example - and then modify that as necessary.

2) How do you plan to avoid shocking your students? shocked

Presumably, those who survive get to pass the course. smile