Home Articles Downloads Forum Products Services Seminar Contact
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Medicine+Engineering, synergy or no connection?
#75293 15/04/20 4:05 PM
OP Offline
Hi everyone,

First of all i´m gonna say that i´m not a native english speaker. In fact in the last 5-6 years i have not used my english at all so now it is much worse than it used to be when i was a kid/teenager and im sure that this text is going to have plenty of mistakes and I´m really sorry about that.

So, I am a spanish doctor, 25 and this year i´m starting my medical residency in ophtalmology. A good amount of proffesionals usually do a PhD during their residency, for getting a better CV basically. The idea doesnt scare me at all but I have a couple of friends doing the PhD and they really doubt if it worths it (speaking in therms of getting a better job).

And...realizing that tecnologies are the future (if not the present...) of medicine i´m thinking about starting an engineering degree.

The main question is simple: would a hypothetical profile doctor-engineer have any kind of good chances in the job market of medical engineering companies? Or they are so different that it doesnt worth it?

I would like to make an appreciation, I do love my doctor job and the point its not that i want to leave it now, but life is long and future is unclear, and as I said it is a reality that tecnologies are going to be more and more important at med fields.

Besides that i wanna say that I do like maths and physics and when I was 18 being an engineer was one of my options. That´s why I think that it wouldn´t be really hard for me to change the kind of topics i´m used to study as a med. Although I obviously know that it is a really hard degree and Im not in thinking about getting it in a few years, it would be a long journey

Thank you very much for your attention engineers!

P.D: I would really appreciate your sincerity. If it is totally nonsense i wanna know it hahaha