Home Articles Downloads Forum Products Services EBME Expo Contact
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
DIY #77683 05/02/24 10:14 AM
Joined: Dec 2015
Posts: 134
Likes: 25
Expert
Offline
Expert
Joined: Dec 2015
Posts: 134
Likes: 25
Hi DIY
I regularly test them on anaesthetic machines, what would you like to know?


30 years since the Chernobyl disaster and yet we still have no super heroes or zombies.
DIY #77684 05/02/24 10:07 PM
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 20
Likes: 1
DIY Offline OP
Dreamer
OP Offline
Dreamer
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 20
Likes: 1
Hi Dustcap
Thanks for getting in touch.
My understanding is, if the CO test simulator is set to 5LPM - for example, then the CO monitor should display this value too - within tolerances (Just like testing an SPO2 monitor - test kit set to 97%, monitor should display the same). The reality is I shouldn't need to ask this question, but the equipment manufacturer are telling me it doesn't matter what value their CO monitor gives when using a test simulator, just as long as a CO waveform is displayed - which I strongly disagree with. I just want to ask others on here if they agree with me, and confirm I'm correct to keep hounding the manufacturers of this particular CO monitoring to change their testing guidelines.

Last edited by DIY; 05/02/24 10:11 PM.
DIY #77685 06/02/24 8:03 AM
Joined: Dec 2015
Posts: 134
Likes: 25
Expert
Offline
Expert
Joined: Dec 2015
Posts: 134
Likes: 25
Hi DIY. My first point would be to identify what the manual of the device you are testing states in relation to CO testing. Does it ask for a flow rate? Then identify what percentage the test gas is and see what it shows on the monitor. I have often used 5% CO with 0% balance as recommended by the monitor manufacturer which has a -/+ 1-2 tolerance. On another device i use a mixed gas test gas with a similar tolerance. What i want to see on both is a waveform but more importantly the percentage. I have not been trained to identify the flow rate and i will ask this question but i suspect its because most capno devices just run a simple pump and its purely dependent on the patients breath rather than a prescribed flow rate such as medical gases for inspiration purpose.
Out of interest is this a capnography device or anaesthetic gas bench? I agree that the manufacturer is wrong to say you just need a wave form as its not what the clinician is looking for, they are looking at percentage of volume of CO to ensure oxygen is being effective and exhalation is also effective. I have had trouble with reps and people on the phone from various manufacturers before, i have then got a copy of the manual to double check and if so then send them the text. Remember that manufacturer staff change but the manual often remains the same. Happy for you to private message me for more details and see if we can work this out.


30 years since the Chernobyl disaster and yet we still have no super heroes or zombies.
DIY #77686 06/02/24 9:58 AM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 321
Likes: 28
Master
Offline
Master
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 321
Likes: 28
Am I the only that's confused??

CO - Cardiac Output, CO - Carbon Monoxide, CO2 - Carbon Dioxide(End Tidal)

PiCCO - Pulse index Continuous Cardiac Output.

Just what parameters are we testing ?

DIY #77687 06/02/24 12:41 PM
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 20
Likes: 1
DIY Offline OP
Dreamer
OP Offline
Dreamer
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 20
Likes: 1
As per title of this thread - Cardiac output (apologies for using the term CO - and not including the "full stops" between).


My understanding is, if the Cardiac Output test simulator is set to 5LPM - for example, then the Cardiac monitor should display this value too - within tolerances (Just like testing an SPO2 monitor - test kit set to 97%, monitor should display the same). The reality is I shouldn't need to ask this question, but the equipment manufacturer are telling me it doesn't matter what value their Cardiac output monitor gives when using a test simulator, just as long as a Cardiac output waveform is displayed - which I strongly disagree with. I just want to ask others on here if they agree with me, and confirm I'm correct to keep hounding the manufacturers of this particular Cardiac Output monitoring to change their testing guidelines.

DIY #77688 06/02/24 12:48 PM
Joined: Dec 2015
Posts: 134
Likes: 25
Expert
Offline
Expert
Joined: Dec 2015
Posts: 134
Likes: 25
Apologies, i got the wrong end of the stick there. To say its been a long week, year is an understatement.


30 years since the Chernobyl disaster and yet we still have no super heroes or zombies.
DIY #77698 12/02/24 7:43 PM
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 20
Likes: 1
DIY Offline OP
Dreamer
OP Offline
Dreamer
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 20
Likes: 1
I'm now assuming that other EBME depts do not check CCO monitoring...?

Page 2 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  DaveC in Oz, RoJo 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Who's Online Now
1 members (surafel), 367 guests, and 18 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newest Members
surafel, Alf123, Dawood absi, Vman, Walter G
10,163 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums25
Topics11,042
Posts73,660
Members10,163
Most Online5,980
Jan 29th, 2020
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5