EBME Forums
Posted By: JoLee Banding - 19/06/09 10:06 AM
Rightio another question that will open a can of worms methinks! rolleyes I am interested in what banding people are on when responsible for managing an equipment library.
This is controversial, as I know there is a huge mix of banding and skill bases around, but could anyone let me know if they are a Band 6 and if so what their JD is? Is anyone a qualified nurse and what band they are at?

I am a nurse and am currently on a Band 5, but manage staff and have responsibilities beyond my current banding - hence I am considering attmpting a re banding, as you might have guessed?
Any help would be appreciated. confused
Posted By: Geoff Hannis Re: Banding - 19/06/09 10:35 AM

Surely the pay band should be pegged to the job, not the person? If an academic genius chooses to work in an Equipment Library (or, indeed, as a hospital porter ... or anything else for that matter), that's OK. It's up to them. And, personally, I admire such people (I sometimes do work that some would regard as menial myself).

But they should not also expect special treatment when it comes to pay, just because they have a PhD (or whatever). smile
Posted By: KM Re: Banding - 19/06/09 11:31 AM
The banding should be for the job not the individual,thats right.
The overriding thing that affects what band your post is given is who sits on the evaluation banding panel and how awkward they want to be.
We had lots of trouble and eventually the whole department went to full JAQ. Even then we heard from a wall that had ears that a SNM who sat on a panel argued that we didnt do core things within our function.
Best bit of advice I got was find a bod thats sat on job evaluation panels and is friendly to you request and knows a bit about what you do. Then let them pick your JAQ to pieces before you give it in.