Home Articles Downloads Forum Products Services EBME Expo Contact
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#42470 26/11/09 9:22 PM
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 25
Dreamer
OP Offline
Dreamer
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 25
Hi

Is anyone using Infopath to set up intranet/email forms to input into their equipment databases?

eastangular #42494 27/11/09 12:54 PM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 306
Master
Offline
Master
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 306
At present we are just making up our PPM tick sheets on Infopath, seems simple enough. Its free if you keep it on the PC's but have to pay if you load it onto the Server. So we will keep the documents on the server and run them on our PC's.

Our database has the ability of pointing towards the document but as the software is not on there you can not open it.

Its in its early stages here but hopefully in a year we will have all PPM documentation on Infopath.

Billy

bcarlisle #42501 27/11/09 2:26 PM
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 25
Dreamer
OP Offline
Dreamer
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 25
Thanks for the info.

I was wondering whether to use infopath to feed in fault reports to the main database which is too clunky to let anyone non-technical near it

eastangular #42523 27/11/09 6:42 PM
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,874
Likes: 9
Hero
Offline
Hero
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,874
Likes: 9
Can you do your reports through 'open office' ?


If you think hiring professionals is expensive, try hiring amateurs!
Neil Porter #42527 27/11/09 8:07 PM
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 35
Visionary
Offline
Visionary
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 35
We've just started transfering all our standard forms and PPM result sheets over to Infopath, usual Microsoft quirks, but a damn site better than forms on Word etc. For what its worth were also saving onto our sharepoint system and pointing the equipment database to that to grab them as part of the job, and only uploading/saving onto the DB server when completed.

Tailzer #42936 10/12/09 11:38 AM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 93
Adept
Offline
Adept
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 93
I had been looking at different systems to try and reduce the amount of paper test sheets we have and seen this thread. How easy is it to interrogate the information when you have it entered, i.e. how many services have been completed of a particular piece of equipment etc?

Mike_d #42938 10/12/09 12:34 PM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 306
Master
Offline
Master
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 306
We have found that we have decreased the amount of paper but increased the amount of computers.

The forms are easy to produce and when published to the server they cant be buggered up unless you import it under construction mode which is always handy.

You can set the fields up to produce a report that can then be printed.

Billy

bcarlisle #42940 10/12/09 1:13 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 93
Adept
Offline
Adept
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 93
Thanks Billy, had you tried any other systems before this? I had looked at adobe forms but they only allowed you to print you couldnt save which is a little pointless. Word and Excel are ok but they arent the most user friendly to create or interrogate after.

How do you organise signatures/approving forms do you use electronic signatures?

Mike_d #42941 10/12/09 1:30 PM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 14,378
Likes: 26
Super Hero
Offline
Super Hero
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 14,378
Likes: 26

If you are talking about databases ... why not use a database management language (such as Access, dBASE, FoxPro or any other of your choice)?

They may not be "user friendly" ... but so what (what computer language is)? Anything worthwhile usually takes a bit of effort, does it not?

And I must say that I disagree with what you're saying about Excel. If you only have the time (or inclination) to master just the one application ... then Excel should be the one. At a pinch, you can do anything you want with it. Especially when you become au fait enough to move on to VBA et al. smile


If you don't inspect ... don't expect.
Geoff Hannis #42949 10/12/09 7:08 PM
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 25
Dreamer
OP Offline
Dreamer
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 25
I was considering using it to allow people to complete a form for example to say a piece of equipment was broken or being moved..and that form would then upload into the database..without users having to fire up unfriendly databases or indeed have more licences etc

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  DaveC in Oz, RoJo 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Who's Online Now
1 members (Blazingapostle), 72 guests, and 29 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newest Members
Blazingapostle, Volkswagen, Chris_P, Rhomwa, Aziizi
9,891 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums25
Topics10,814
Posts72,637
Members9,890
Most Online5,980
Jan 29th, 2020
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5