Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#76486 05/10/21 3:06 PM
Hero
OP Offline
Hero
I have been harping on to Huw for over 25 years saying I am writing a novel based in Belize during the Cold War era.

Well, I have finally finished it. If you are interested, you can pre order a copy here:
Reds on the Run https://smile.amazon.co.uk/dp/1839757930/ref=cm_sw_r_apan_glt_fabc_NTYR9QPXJF3QFG0PACBC

Last edited by John Sandham; 05/10/21 3:11 PM.

Be Proactive and reactive.
Super Hero
Super Hero
Yes; very interested. Stand-fast Andy McNab!

Am I right in assuming this work is a novel (fiction) rather than a memoir?

I never made it to Belize "back in the day" ... but was considering retiring there a few years ago. But (largely due to what I have read on the internet), I doubt that move will be made now.

But if we're going to start reminiscing about the Cold War ... maybe I had better start jotting down a few notes (whilst I can still remember them) about how I (and, it must be said, a few others) kept the 3rd Shock Army at bay; not to mention creeping about the misty back-streets of (West) Berlin (John le CarrΓ© eat your heart out).

Good luck with the book, John. I shall look out for it.

Meanwhile ... Jolly Green Giant ... or Puma?

If you don't inspect ... don't expect.
Hero
OP Offline
Hero
It is a work of fiction Geoff, and that is a Puma on the front cover (with me sat on the steps) The corrugated tin Nissen hut in the background was where I lived with 17 other guys from the General Engineering Flight. πŸ˜€

Hero
OP Offline
Hero
More about my book here: https://redsontherun.com/

Never got to Belize John, prob because I was always fixed wing not Rotary when in the RAF. My Best Man Chris Eaton did Belize though.
It'll be an interesting read, good luck with the sales.

Hero
OP Offline
Hero
Thanks,
first month sold over 1000 books. I'm happy with that. πŸ˜€