Home Articles Downloads Forum Products Services EBME Expo Contact
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 601
Philosopher
OP Offline
Philosopher
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 601
Hi, apologies if this has been done before, couldn't find anything using the search button.
Has anyone had problems with Dinamap batteries? Most of ours don't seem to last very long. We were told that the Dinamaps have a rapid charge and we must use batteries with high temperature cells. Unfortunately we cannot get hold of a circuit diagram to check this claim.

Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 14,361
Likes: 26
Super Hero
Offline
Super Hero
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 14,361
Likes: 26

... and I very much doubt that you will ever get it (the diagram) either. Not unless you make your own, that is.

Meanwhile, I reckon you're spending too much time with the nurses, Bill. Their "terminology" is starting to rub off (and catch on), it seems ... Dinamap? How about a model or model number? smile


If you don't inspect ... don't expect.
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 11
Novice
Offline
Novice
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 11
Are you talking Dinamap pro 1000 or Dinamap pro 100-400 series? Usually Dinamaps pro 1000 dont last very long.

Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 306
Master
Offline
Master
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 306
Welcome to the biggest grip we have with GE. The batteries can last anything from 6 months to 4 years all depends if the ward use them till they are cmpletely flat. They then sulphate up and require a greater current than the power supply can output. Remove them and give them a blast on the bench power supply. If lucky you may get a few more months out of it.
This problem is even worse on the procare/carescape as the BP uses only battery power and when the battery swells its a sod to get out.

As for the pro 1000, they need changed every year here.


Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 601
Philosopher
OP Offline
Philosopher
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 601
Sorry Geoff, when I said Dinamap I actually meant "Dinamap" not Dynomap or Dino-Map or even Diner-map, yes we've had tham all boggle. To be precise our main culprit is the Pro series, as in the subject title. We have seen Procare batteries swelling up too. Perhaps we need to get together put all our dud batteries in a van (probably need a lorry eek) and dump them outside GE's HQ. On a more serious note it would be great if we could petition these companies as a group.

Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 14,361
Likes: 26
Super Hero
Offline
Super Hero
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 14,361
Likes: 26

Why doesn't the Department of Health do stuff like that, I wonder? think

Anyhow Bill, if folk started to "flex muscles" in such a way, would the companies concerned continue to sponsor this forum? whistle

Meanwhile, what about DynaRod?


If you don't inspect ... don't expect.
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 14,361
Likes: 26
Super Hero
Offline
Super Hero
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 14,361
Likes: 26

To assist you in your never-ending quest for perfection, Bill (a journey upon which I am, of course, a fellow traveller), you may like to consider the Soundex( ) function found in xBASE languages, MySQL, and possibly others as well (for all I know).

In xBASE (dBASE, Foxpro et al) a string comparison using Soundex( ) takes the form:-

Code:

? SOUNDEX("Dinamap") = SOUNDEX("DynaMap")


Here are some results:-

Code:

? SOUNDEX("Dinamap") = SOUNDEX("Dynomap")   gives TRUE
? SOUNDEX("Dinamap") = SOUNDEX("Dino-Map")  gives TRUE
? SOUNDEX("Dinamap") = SOUNDEX("Diner-map") gives TRUE
? SOUNDEX("Dinamap") = SOUNDEX("DynaRod")   gives FALSE


Here is the blurb:- SOUNDEX( ) returns a four-character string. By comparing the results SOUNDEX( ) returns for two character expressions, you can determine if the two expressions are phonetically similar, indicating that they sound alike. This can be useful when searching for duplicate records in a database table. SOUNDEX( ) isn't case sensitive and generally disregards vowels.

So, there you are! smile

If this is the sort of thing that "floats your boat" (as they say), you may also want to look up the DIFFERENCE( ) function as well. DIFFERENCE( ) returns a digit in the range 0 to 4 depending upon the "closeness" (in phonetic terms) of the two strings being compared.


If you don't inspect ... don't expect.

Moderated by  DaveC in Oz, RoJo 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 56 guests, and 23 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newest Members
Umaru Ayoub, Bumloka, Koots201, kevhewitt, Maxi
9,878 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums25
Topics10,788
Posts72,567
Members9,878
Most Online5,980
Jan 29th, 2020
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5